Music News

Soundtrack/Movie: The Great Gatsby

If this doesn’t get you excited, I don’t know what will. We get an official almost 3 minute long trailer from one of the greatest books ever written (it’s a favorite). Jay-Z is scoring the whole soundtrack and giving it a modern sound while keeping the key elements. The trailer opens up with a rework of Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black courtesy of Andre 3000 & Beyoncé. Then when it breaks we get a new tune from Lana Del Rey Young and Beautiful, followed by the grand voice of Florence + the Machine with Over The Love. The soundtrack will have 14 cuts and the deluxe version will consist of 17 through Target. It will be available for purchase digitally on May 7th. Check out the track list below. I am WAY excited for this but I can’t wait to hear Coco O. from Quadron’s song. Needless to say The xx, Jay’s new song, Jack White, Sia and Nero. I want to know what the other 3 tracks will be and who they will consist of. Enjoy!

The Great Gatsby Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. Jay-Z – 100$ Bill
02. Beyoncé and André 3000 – Back to Black
03. – Bang Bang
04. Fergie, Q-Tip, and GoonRock – A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got)
05. Lana Del Rey – Young and Beautiful
06. Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra – Love Is The Drug
07. Florence and the Machine – Over The Love
08. Coco O. of Quadron – Where The Wind Blows
09. Emeli Sandé and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra – Crazy in Love
10. The xx – Together
11. Gotye – Hearts a Mess
12. Jack White – Love is Blindness
13. Nero – Into the Past
14. Sia – Kill and Run

KiD CuDi Leaves G.O.O.D. Music


KiD CuDi announces his departure from G.O.O.D. Music. At first I was “WHY?!!!” but then I actually thought about it and I think he may have done a good thing, no pun intended. Based on Cruel Summer, if Cruel Winter is anything like it, he made a wise choice. Let’s face it, his song on Cruel Summer stood out like a sore thumb because it didn’t fit the actual album. CuDi has that je ne sais quoi about him. He’s a chameleon who adjusts to any genre but Indie Rap is more his scene. He’s literally the man on the moon with his work and I appreciate it. According to his interview, Kanye and him are fine no bad blood within the camp.

Man, everything is cool. Everything is peace with everyone on the label, but I’m announcing that I’m no longer on G.O.O.D. Music. And this is something that no one knows really. I’m no longer on G.O.O.D. Music… Me and Kanye were actually talking on the phone the other day, and there’s been things I wanted to talk to him about. About me wanting to start my own direction, and he got because he’s trying to start his own new path, and trying new things as an artist. And he was just like ‘Man, I feel you. It’s cool.’ This is just from a business standpoint. There’s no beef with anyone on the label. It’s all love.

KiD CuDi–Indicud


KiD CuDi releases the album artwork for his upcoming project, Indicud. King Chip, Kendrick Lamar, A$AP Rocky and RZA are the core players here. What spiked my interest? HAIM! WOOHOO! I’m excited for that track. What threw me through a loop? Michael (Kick Ass) Bolton. Niceee. I like a few of his tunes so this will for sure be interesting. I’m ready. I’m glad he’s mixing it up versus going with the norm. Then again, this is KiD CuDiiiiiiiiii.

1. The Resurrection Of Scott Mescudi
2. Unfuckwittable
3. Just What I Am Feat. King Chip
4. Young Lady Feat. Father John Misty
5. King Wizard
6. Immortal
7. Solo Dolo Part II Feat. Kendrick Lamar
8. Girls Feat. Too $hort
9. New York City Rage Fest
10. Red Eye Feat. Haim
11. Mad Solar
12. Beez Feat. RZA
13. Brothers Feat. King Chip & A$AP Rocky
14. Burn Baby Burn
15. Lord Of The Sad And Lonely
16. Cold Blooded
17. Afterwards (Bring Yo Friends) Feat. Michael Bolton & King Chip
18. The Flight Of The Moon Man

Drake May be signing OVO to Warner Brothers


Another day, another interesting story in the music industry. Today, sources are saying that none other than Drake will be following in friend and collaborator Rick Ross’ footsteps by inking a joint venture deal between his own imprint and Warner Bros. Records. But unlike Ross’ publicly visible endeavor, Drake’s move comes as a surprise. After giving career-boosting co-signs to the likes of The Weeknd and A$AP Rocky just for the love of their music, it didn’t seem like Drake was in the business of signing artists. Perhaps it’s time, though. There aren’t many details as of yet, but if Billboard’s report holds true, the Toronto native will continue to release his own solo albums under Young Money/Cash Money/Universal Republic Records while having the ability to sign and distribute artists through October’s Very Own/Warner Bros. Although we are still awaiting official details, it looks like congratulations may be due to Mr. Graham and the whole OVO crew.

Source: Hypetrak

Yeah Yeah Yeahs! (Yeahhhhhhhh!!!!)

YESSSSSSSSSSSS! They will be releasing an album in Spring of 13. IT’S ABOUT DAMN TIME! As if 6 almost 7 years wasn’t long enough. I’m besides myself right now. I was wondering the other day when this would happen. Hopefully they go back to when they first started. Their first and second album are my absolute favorite. Excited! Hopefully they tour. I NEED to see them.

The-Dream/Terius Nash–1977

GASP!I think I just died. December 18th will be a glorious day for me. Terius Nash a.k.a. The-Dream is releasing 1977 as an album in stores in physical ownership. As in I will be looking at album art and finding misspelled words (I hope not lmao). Rejoice! I’m so excited. Let’s hope he adds like 5 more songs on there. I’ll be so happy.

Hey Dream you should REALLY take that song off the album with Casha ‘Silly’ I believe is the name. No me gusta. I know it’s over a year old but this album was just so perfect for me. “Wake me When it’s Over”, “Wedding Crasher”, “Ghetto”, “1977 (Miss You Still)”, “Wish You Were Mine”. I think I left out like 2 songs lmao! I loveeee me some Radio Killahhhhh.

Big Sean–Guap

Big Sean will be releasing this new track off his ‘Hall Of Fame’ album tonight at 7. SWIRV

Update: It’s here! You hear Yeezy on it?! Woooooooo! MAN this song jams. Has elements that sound like ‘No Church in the Wild’. Guap to me is ‘guapo’ in spanish but I think he means the other significance… money. He could have done me a solid with guapo. Big Sean’s a good looking dude. Have you seen him in GQ? I mean.

iTunes version tonight.

Gilbere Forté–Pray

May the Gods finally have something wonderful to smile about. FINALLY he drops this single. The video will be out on Halloween. I’ve been listening to this man for what seems like eons. I pretty much stalk him on facebook to see when this will drop as I am waiting on his collaboration with JMSN to come out if it sees the light of day. I respect this dude because of his awesome clichés and his wittiness. Also for being able to adapt to anything. He’s like a chameleon. Being signed then leaving because he didn’t like it or see a future there is admirable and hopefully now with this and his 5 track EP coming in 2013, people take notice. I had the biggest smile on my face when I heard Fiona Apple (Every Single Night) roaring through the beginning of this track as well as throughout. Well played Gilbere… well played. If you don’t like this there is something completely wrong with you. Enjoy the track and download it!